Over 140 Years of Serving God and the Community
On June 22nd, 1879, the First Presbyterian Church of McPherson, Kansas was organized with a charter signed by thirteen members. Their first place of worship was on the second floor of a building that stood in what is now a downtown parking lot.
By 1884, the first church building was constructed and furnished with a glass chandelier, a reed organ, and electric lights.
A new building was constructed in 1916, of red brick with white Corinthian columns, stained glass windows, a basement, and a balcony. In 1934, a Reuter pipe organ was installed. In 1952, an education annex was built next to the church.
The present church building was dedicated in 1977. The structure is designed to be accessible and inclusive in all parts of the facility, enhance the worship experience, and provide space on the grounds for outdoor activities and expansion.
The focal point in the sanctuary is a large walnut Celtic cross highlight by a natural limestone rock wall. The Reuter pipe organ, several stained glass windows, and the pulpit furniture were moved from the previous building.